Day five–Social or independent

Independent: free from external control and constraint

Don’t get me wrong, I love being around people. I love to hang out with good friends and have a good time. But I consider myself more independent. I don’t enjoy being told what, how or when to do something. It just frustrates me. I’m all about doing my thing, my way. I’m pretty much a selfish brat,  honestly. On top of that, I like to do solitary things like read, listen to music, mess around on the computer. I just don’t find many people dependable. They aren’t able to cater to my wants and needs as well as I know I can. I always entertain myself. Just think, when you’re out with other people sometimes it’s just not polite to get up and leave even though you can’t imagine sitting there listening to them talk for 3 more hours!! I’m an independent woman, in many senses of the word, who’s doing her own thing.

When I say I simply don’t have time to do what I don’t want to, I mean it. Life is much much MUCH too short to follow the crowd.

Social: tending to move or live together in groups or colonies of the same kind

At the same time, I don’t want people thinking I hate being social. I don’t! I love being with my friends. I love being surrounded by people. The people I surround myself with however, are the type of people who just know how I am. They understand that I am not always going to do every single thing with them. I think of my roommates. They know they are welcome anytime in my room. When we hang out, I’ll probably be doing whatever I need to get done, like folding laundry, while they play Wii. So, I love people. They are fascinating and fun but I don’t fit neatly into a social circle so I consider myself more independent. I’m not locked away in my room. I promise.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

