Giving up…

Is anyone else a fan of random google searches? I sure am. I type something that’s been running through my mind and I see what pops up {older blog similar idea}. A while ago it was giving up. To my surprise, the first result was a simple little video to Ingrid Michaelson’s “giving up.”  I’ve loved loved loved Ms. Michaelson since before it was the cool thing to do. Just ask my poor boyfriend who sat through multiple listenings and analyses of every song I could find of hers. I was thrilled {to say the least} when she was the first result.

Upon your first listen, because the song is so slow and repetitive, it sounds desolate like she’s giving up on everything {the original video I found was great but unfortunately embedding is disabled. Here’s the same song different video}:

Did you get that she isn’t giving up?! She’s not giving up at all. She’s found she will be  happy in all that is imperfect. I think what she’s saying is she’s giving up her insecurities. I think she’s giving up the what-ifs and life’s imperfections and she’s loving what she has, which of course is “you.”

What if we stop having a ball?
What if the paint chips from the wall?
What if there’s always cups in the sink?
What if I’m not what you think I am?

{What if everything isn’t perfect. What if we don’t work out}

What if I fall further than you?
What if you dream of somebody new?
What if I never let you win, chase you with a rolling pin?
Well what if I do?

{What if I love you more that you love me. What if I go bat shit crazy?}

I am giving up on making passes and
I am giving up on half empty glasses and
I am giving up on greener grasses
I am giving up

{Well I’m giving up on losing out. I’m giving up on other guys. I’m giving up negativity. I’m giving up on what-ifs and insecurities}

What if our baby comes home after nine?
What it your eyes close before mine?
What if you lose yourself sometimes? Then I’ll be the one to find you
Safe in my heart

{What if we ruin our children. What if I’m left all alone. What if we aren’t perfect. That’s okay because I’ll love you all the same}

I am giving up on making passes and
I am giving up on half empty glasses and
I am giving up on greener grasses
I am giving up

I am giving up
I am giving up
I am giving up on greener grasses

I am giving up for you
I am giving up for you
I am giving up

{I’m giving up the negativity, the what-ifs and the insecurities because I believe in you. I’m giving up the search for greener grasses because there’s no one greener than you}

Well, there you have it. Ingrid isn’t giving up at all. She’s committing herself to the person the song is written about. My interpretation to another Ingrid song. Maybe you don’t agree you. You don’t need to. I get this chick though and I’m sticking by my interpretation because it made me feel all better. Bam!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

