The Green Hornet

Okay, so I just got home from a screening of “The Green Hornet.” Going into the theater my expectations were low. My boyfriend said it was going to suck, my father said “that looks stupid,” and my friend said she wasn’t really excited about this one. But as the movie wrapped up I walked out of the theater and listened to everyone buzzing like bees about the film. And I agree with their buzz. It was a neat flick. I know some don’t agree though.

Apparently, there were some  fans of the 1930s radio serial, 1960’s television show and those in the Comic-Con scene that weren’t open to the mix of super-hero action and low- brow humor. This really confuses me because I thought comics were comedic? Anyway Seth Rogen, the films co-writer and actor, acknowledged the less than warm welcome of the films entry into the action-comedy genre alongside hits such as “Super-man.”

“It’s a difficult movie to conceive of, and I think that’s one of the reasons people were so weirded out when this first came along,” said Rogen. “You don’t instantly picture a good version of this.”

I say let the welcome be warm! Britt Reid (Seth Rogen) inherits his father’s estate including his newspaper The Daily Sentinel. Reid’s father was a giant dick so Reid teams up with his father’s mechanic and barista, Kato (Jay Chou), to deface the statue built to commemorate his father. In the process, Reid finds himself unsuccessfully trying to save a couple in trouble. Kato leaps to his defense and saves the clueless Reid. Then it begins.

With the taste of excitement, Reid and Kato decide to take on LA’s crime. They use Reid’s newly inherited newspaper to conceal their identities and promote their superhero adventures. The neighborhood crime boss, Chudnofsky (Christopher Waltz), isn’t feeling up to the competition. He places a $1M bounty on the Green Hornet’s head. All hell breaks out.

I’m not usually a fan of violence, but this film had some pretty awesome action scenes that were impressive even to one not impressed by action at all. I found myself really into the conflicts rooting for the homegrown heroes. The humor throughout the movie is what you expect out of Rogen. Stupid and simple but cleaver.

Eventually, Reid learns his father had integrity when it came to his newspaper, but still he sees his dad as a prick. The only gripe I can think of was that I waited for some sort of great moral ending or lesson to be learned, which I never got.

I’m not a movie reviewer. I can’t go into anything specific about the technical aspects of the film. The 3-D seemed a bit unnecessary but nice to have, I suppose. If I had to give it a rating, I’d say a solid 3.7 stars. It was funny. I caught myself laughing quite a bit. My father thought some material was just dumb. It’s definitely geared towards a younger crowd.

Overall, audiences going to this movie aren’t going to know anything about “The Green Hornet” origins. They’ll be expecting Seth Rogen being his “par-taying” usual self. They’ll get that and more. The action was better and more impressive than I could have imagined. I liked the characters’ development, though there could have been a bit more chemistry between the Hornet & his “side-kick.” I didn’t expect too much creativity when it came to this movie but there really was a good amount. The attention to detail in a few scenes really made the intricacies of the plot pop. Oh, and the black beauty was beyond awesome. 

Watch the trailer. Go see this move. It’s pretty cool.

Recommended. Bam!

3 thoughts on “The Green Hornet

  1. Noel says:

    I think people were against it because the comic/radio drama that it was based on was pretty “serious.” It wold be like seeing Batman or Star Wars as a comedy. But it was an action-comedy, which I feel would break up the “seriousness” of the movie, right?
    I was a little suspicious of seeing it because of the role of Kato. In the radio dramas, Kato was pretty much a mindless servant. Like he had no character. I can see in the movie they tried to flesh him out more, but the movie isn’t about him. I think they might be trying to set up for a sequel. Sorry. I’m kinda a comic nerd.

  2. Dave says:

    In this movie, Kato seemed to be the strong hero and the “Green Hornet” his bumbling “sidekick”. Rogan appeared to be trying to play or copy a Peter Sellers, “Pink Panther” clueless type hero role. Didn’t work for me.

  3. The least expected conclusion. But when you think about, diversity in thought is good for the community as a whole.

Leave a Reply

