Idea

I have been feeling a bit unproductive lately. I need a project that is fun, worthwhile and makes me feel productive.

{Light bulb}

Ever since I was a very young child sneaking under the covers after bedtime with my flashlight and notebooks writing whatever came to mind, I have wanted to take a creative writing class. When I was in fifth grade, I even wrote a short 100-page novel. As I’ve gotten older, however, I’ve spent less time writing creativly and went into just writing my day to day in a journal or school work. No bueno. My life just isn’t very interesting. I tried for 2 years to work in a writing minor at Iona College because I would get to take one creative writing class, but unfortunately, it just wouldn’t fit into my schedule. I ended up with a minor in English, but of course that was all reading.

So what is my genius idea? {get to the point!} Maybe I can find one of my old creative writing books. Think Julie & Julia. Blogger Julie cooks her way through Julia Child’s cook book. I’ll write my way through a creative writing book. If I remember correctly some books I’ve read have exercises to complete as you read.

This might help me because I haven’t produced or done anything productive other than read and make money this summer. It will satisfy this creative itch I’ve had lately too. It’ll hopefully make me a stronger writer. And maybe, just maybe, it will help me take this blog in a particular direction, because as you can tell I have been struggling with finding a topic for this stupid thing.

Just wanted to throw the idea out there. It won’t be pretty. I love to write, but I’m not saying it’s going to be any good. But eh..here’s my idea. Thought I’d get it on to paper and mull it over. I’ve had {brilliant} ideas before that have poofed into the black abyss of my mind before and others that still sit collecting dust on the back shelves of my inner workings. I have a book in mind, but I am still looking into others.

Know of any good creative writing books you can suggest?

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Idea

  1. Kendra says:

    Hi, I came here from 20SB! I’m a writer and was intrigued. I think it sounds like a very interesting idea, something I’ll definitely come back to check out when you get it started.
    If you’re still looking for books, I shared a ton of creative writing books on my blog earlier in the year. Here’s the post: http://likeabirdblog.com/2011/02/whats-on-my-bookshelf/
    My two favorites are Bird by Bird and Writing Down The Bones.
    Check out my post and if you want more suggestions or ever want to talk writing let me know! 🙂

  2. If it gets you writing, then do it!

    It won’t be easy, but if you make schedule and stick to it. The people who become successful writers are the ones that write ALL THE TIME. You should definitely take a creative writing class if you ever get the opportunity. They usually have them at community colleges, online or at a local university.

    The thing that helped me the most as a writer was reading other writer’s work. Figure out what works and doesn’t work in their writer and learn from it.

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

