Flowers

Valentine’s Day was yesterday, and if you are single and sour about it, I hope you stayed off Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Pinterest and a variety of other social media sites for the day.

My social media sites were abuzz. There was certainly no missing the innumerable photos of everyone’s pretty flowers and sweet treats. Seeing so many pictures of flowers it got me thinking just a bit.

I’m seeing more and more eclectic arrangements. I’d almost go so far as to say there is a trend emerging…and I kind of like this trend.

Traditional is out, eccentric and creative is moving in.

I enjoy the eccentric combination of flowers—the quirky or bizarre combinations are really catching my eye. Yesterday, I even saw arrangements incorporating fruits, feathers and even seeds. Flowers, or even non-flowers, are coming together as creative, beautiful pieces of art.

Typically, I’m not a flower girl, but this non-flower girl might just spend some of my hard-earned cash on some of these fun combinations.

With the recent Pinterest explosion, something so simple as flowers is getting serious attention. I’m going to guess it has something to do with the fact that about 97% of Pinterest users are women. What are these women doing on Pinterest? Well, planning their dream weddings, of course.

Instagram is also very involved with posting the pretty today. If you haven’t already, consider scanning the popular photo feed.

Here are some of those fun combos I was telling you about.

 

is that an artichoke?

I adore this. Adore.

& here are my Valentine’s Day fleurs.

Star gazer Lilies. My favorite.

Have you noticed people are moving away from the typical and looking for the more eccentric flowers?

What are your favorite flowers?

Leave a Reply

