‘Hunger Gaming’

A few months ago, I heard some buzz about this crazy little trilogy by Suzanne Collins called The Hunger Games.” Friends, who I know don’t read anything other than their Facebook feeds, were reading the books {and raving about them!}.

The movie, starring Jennifer Lawrence, Josh Hutcherson and Liam Hemsworth, just wrapped up a stellar weekend opening with $152.5 million–third only to “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2,” which raked in $169.2 million,  and “The Dark Knight” that pulled in $158.4 million.

I haven’t seen the movie yet, but it was written by Gary Ross, Billy Ray and Suzanne Collins. The novelist co-write the screenplay—what an idea!

And so, though I knew close to nothing about the plot of the books {and now the movie} other than it involves murdering teeny-boppers, I dedicated what very little time I had this weekend to reading “The Hunger Games.” This is a huge deal for me, because I have very little time read I want to because I have so much that I need to read for school and work and various other commitments.

I’m glad I took a little me-time! “The Hunger Games” was an overall entertaining book. It is super easy and quick read, great for lazy weekend. Collins did an excellent job at luring readers into the next chapter with her ability to build suspense, and then leave readers feeling as if they were about to dive of a cliff like Wile E. Coyote. Time after time, I found myself saying, “just one more chapter…Okay, one more.”

It’s thought provoking too. Great theme and symbolism that sticks with you even after you’ve put the book down.

I won’t go into the details of the plot as going into it blindly was one reason I enjoyed the book so much. Do me a favor though? Read the book before you see the movie.  If you haven’t heard– THE MOVIE IS NEVER AS GOOD AS THE BOOK. Now read that again. Got it?

Have you read the book or seen the movie?

What did you think?

Leave a Reply

